web creation software


At the core of Finbond Mutual Bank's business are the intellectual capital, experience, commitment and proven skills of its management. The senior management is a blend of experienced high profile individuals with many years of management experience in the banking and financial services sector and all with proven track records, and corporate entrepreneurs with a flair for business.

Executive Directors

Dr. Willem van Aardt

Chief Executive Officer
[B Proc (cum laude), LLM, LLD, Admitted Attorney of the High Court of South Africa, QLTT (England and Wales), Admitted Solicitor of the Supreme Court of England and Wales]

Founded Finbond in January 2003.

Previously the co-founder and an executive director of Thuthukani Group Limited, a JSE listed microfinance and debt collection company. (All Thuthukani’s businesses are still in operation today).

Doctorate in Public Law through the University of Potchefstroom in 2005.

Admitted as a Solicitor of the Supreme Court of England and Wales in 2008.

Completed International Development Ireland’s “Strategy in Management and Banking Programme” in Dublin in 2009.

Previously Legal Consultant at Sanlam and Executive Director Thuthukani Group Limited.

15 years’ experience in financial services and micro lending sectors.

Greg Labuschagne

Chief Financial Officer
[CA (SA), CPA (CA), BCom (Hons Acc), BCom (Fin Acc)(cum laude)]

Versatile senior financial executive with significant experience in strategic and financial business planning, day-to-day management of the finance department, as well as operational support for the business. This combination of strong business knowledge, international experience and technical abilities was gained from various senior and executive level positions held at companies in Sub-Saharan Africa and North America.

A qualified South African Chartered Accountant (CA(SA), as well as Canadian Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CA), he completed his articles with KPMG.

Served as Financial Director and Chief Financial Officer at Finbond Group Limited (responsible for group-wide finance and statutory functions) between 2009 and 2011, was appointed as Chief Financial Officer of Finbond Group International during July 2018, and re-appointed Financial Director and Chief Financial Officer at Finbond Group Limited in March 2019. Prior to rejoining Finbond Group Limited, served as Chief Financial Officer of the Conservative Party of Canada. Previous experience includes serving as Financial Manager at ABSA Bank Limited.

Carel van Heerden

Chief Operating Officer
[B Com (Risk) (Unisa), MBA (Stellenbosch)]

Started his career at Finbond as Area Manager in 2008.

Fulfilled various General Management roles within the Group at regional and national level since 2009.

Serves as the Group's Chief Operating Officer, managing daily operations, since 2013.

Received an MBA from the University of Stellenbosch Business School.

Holds B Com degree with specialization in Risk Management from Unisa.

Executive directorship of Finbond Group Limited and Finbond Mutual Bank.

Non - Executive Directors

Dr. Malesela Motlatla

Independent Non-Executive Chairman

[BA (Unisa), Post-Graduate Diploma in Marketing (Unisa), D.Com (Honoris Causa (Unisa), Diploma in Business Management and further studies through the Wharton School of Business (Philadelphia)]

Worked for the South African Breweries (SAB) for more than 20 years, where his main job functions included marketing and sales management, research, business development and training, corporate affairs, management consultancy and employee relations.

Established the first black business consortium in the Northern Cape region, Malesela Holdings (Pty) Limited, operates in the areas of logistics, health, power and energy and the cleaning industries.

Serves on the boards of several JSE listed companies as chairman.

Former Chairman of Tshwane University of Technology (TUT).

Rosetta Xaba

Independent Non-Executive Director

[B Com (Hons)(ACC), Chartered Accountant (SA), Certifidied Public Accountant (Virginia)]

A Chartered Accountant with over 10 years’ experience in External Auditing; Internal Auditing and Financial Management.

Rosetta serves as a non-executive director of a number of organisations.

Adv. Neville Melville

Independent Non-Executive Director

[BA Law, LLB (Natal) LLM (cum laude) (Natal), Post Graduate Diploma in Company Direction, Senior Executive Programme (Harvard Business School), AltX Company Directors' Induction (Wits Business School)), Advocate of the High Court]

Neville was the CEO of the board of the Ombudsman for Banking Services for seven years, working alongside various top-flight, experienced directors of public companies.

First Executive Director of the Independent Complaints Directorate and practised as an Advocate at the Durban Bar.

Former office-bearer in various local and international voluntary associations, including chairperson of the South African Ombudsman Association.

Member of the Financial Service Ombuds Schemes Council and was the FSB/court appointed Curator of PIT Group of Companies.

Served as a founder director of the Co-operative Banks Development Agency (CBDA).

Honorary Research Fellow at the University of KwaZulu-Natal.

Member of Chartered Institute of Arbitrators, London and Institute of Directors, South Africa.

Ina Wilken-Jonker

Non-Executive Director 
[B Com (Hons) (Unisa)] 

Appointed at Santam Bank in 1967 and held positions at the Bank of the Orange Free State, Barclays Bank, First National Bank and the SA Consumer Council prior to joining Finbond in 2003.

Former Chairman of the Estate Agency Affairs Board and former Chairman of the South African National Consumer Union.

Appointed to the Debt Collectors’ Council by the Minister of Justice in 2007, to the Agricultural Research Council by the Minister of Agriculture in 2009, by the Minister of Trade and Industry to both the Estate Agency Affairs Board in 2010 and the FSB’s FAIS board.

Was Vice Chairman of the Banking Ombudsman between 2000 - 2010 and the vice-president of the Pretoria Chamber of Commerce, the president of International Training and Communication in Pretoria, and a board member of the SA Pharmaceutical Council.

45 years’ experience in the financial services, banking and consumer protection industries.

Honorary Research Fellow at the University of KwaZulu-Natal.

Was Head Compliance Officer at Finbond up to her retirement in 2013, where after she became non-executive director.

Danie Brits

Independent Non-Executive Director
[B Com MBA]

Danie gained extensive experience in the Banking and Financial Sector over the past 40 years.

Danie started his career in 1980 as a Manager at Volkskas Merchant Bank and was appointed in 1992 as Group Executive Risk and as Executive Director of ABSA Group Limited in 1995.

Danie inter alia served as:

Executive Director and Board Member ABSA Bank Limited, ABSA Corporate and Merchant Bank and Bankfin.
Member of the ABSA Group Limited Executive Committee.
Head of ABSA Group Limited Executive Corporate Bank Division. 

Danie is currently also serving as:

Board Member and Chairman of the Audit Committee Barclays Bank Mozambique.
Board Member of the National Bank of Tanzania.

Piet Naudé

Independent Non-Executive Director
[BCom (Marketing), Gaining Competitive Advantage (Michigan), IEP (INSEAD)]

Management experience in Discounting, Relationships, Asset Based Finance and Corporate Banking.

Long and illustrious career at Absa Corporate and Merchant Bank.